Lawrence County is now under a burn ban until further notice. WAKO News was informed by county officials Thursday that the ban was initiated after a consultation with county fire chiefs and the Lawrence County Emergency Management Agency. The ban prohibits the burning of yard trash, bonfires, campfires and burn barrels. The use of fireworks is also prohibited. Contained  residential outdoor cooking in a device which effectively contains fire, flames, and heat will be allowed. Lawrence County joins Jasper and Crawford Counties in southeastern Illinois in  implementing burn bans due to the recent extremely dry conditions throughout the area.