GOP dominance trickles down to local elections






Only one Democrat won in Knox County locally.

County Council member Tim Crowley was the only incumbent to retain his seat.  He will continue to serve on the county council.  He was third in the six person race.  The top two vote getters were Republicans David Culp and Harry Nolting.

The two Democrat incumbent County Commissioners lost their seats.  Republican Trent Hinkle beat Democrat Larry Holscher with about 53%.  Republican Tim Ellerman upset Democrat Donnie Halter. Ellerman wins by 49 votes.  Ellerman and Hinkle along with Republican Kellie Streeter will now make up a totally Republican County Commissioners Board in Knox County.

In the only contested School Board race in the county at South Knox Schools Michael Edwards won easily with nearly 70%.



It was a clean sweep for Daviess County Republicans…again.

The GOP dominance continued despite having Democrat opposition for the first time in several elections.

Locally, in the County Commissioner District 1 race, former county highway department employee Tom McCracken took over 73% of the vote over Democrat Mark Smith.  McCracken will take the seat now held by Dan Jones who lost the primary in May to McCracken.

In the County Council At Large Race, the three Republicans retain their seats.  Jo Ann McCracken and Mike Sprinkle were re-elected with 26% and 22% of the votes respectively.  Newcomer Kent Norris had over 22%.

Recorder Jamie Chapman was re-elected with 77% and Treasurer Elaine Wellman retains her office with 79% of the votes.

The two Washington School Board members who serve in the At-Large seats were re-elected Randy Bouchie and Mike Traylor each had around 38% each.



Two democrats win their contested races in Pike County all the rest went to Republicans.

The two Republican incumbent County Commissioners easily won their contests against their Democrat challengers.  Ryan Coleman won with over 62% over Brad Hampton.  Jeff Nelson finished with nearly 72% over Heath Abell.

The County Council At Large race went to Republicans Greg Willis and Dennis Bishop. Bishop had 24% and Willis 22%. Democrat Todd Meadors was the top vote getter in that race with over 26%.

The only other Democrat to win in Pike County was Grethen Harris for Coroner winning with over 53%.

In the non-partisan School Board races in Pike County, incumbent Chris McKinney wins re-election with over 68%.  Newcomers Stephen Potter and Krista Halbrader were vying for the seat being vacated by Nathan Harker.  Potter won with 59 votes.


Republicans take the majority of Martin County’s local elections.

Rhonda Sanders wins the Recorder race 68% of the Martin County votes. Lori Carrico wins the Treasurer’s race with 55%.  The County Commissioner District 1 race was won by Kevin Boyd with 58%. Dan Gregory won Martin County Commissioner District 3 with nearly 60% of the vote.

Republicans Warren Albright and Keith Gibson will be on the Martin County Council.  Democrat Richard Summers also was a top vote getter in that five person race.

For Loogootee School Board at Large Brandi Hennette and T.J. McAtee win.  For Shoals School Board District 2 Jennell Hoffman wins with 46%, Shoals Schools district 3 went to Bill Bauer with only a 36 vote margin over Lorna Troutman.  In District 5 at Shoals it was Drexel Turpin winning with about 64%.


All of the Republicans won on Dubois County’s local ballot. The biggest race was likely that of County Commissioner in District 1 where longtime commissioner Larry Vollmer did not seek re-election.  Republican Chad Blessinger defeated Gary Eck 64 to 36%.  For Dubois County Commissioner District 3 Nick Hostetter beat Randy Fleck. The three Republicans won the six person county council at large race, the winners were Sonya Haas, Michael Kluesner and Dough Uebelhor.

The Greater Jasper School Board District 4 seat went to Tim Demotte.  Jennifer Thacker won the Southwest Dubois School Board District 1 election.


In Gibson County, Republican Misty Hoke won the Auditor’s race with 54%.

Republican Scott Martin took 66% of the Gibson County vote for Surveyor.

Tight race for North Gibson School Board district 3 with Kreigh Christy winning with 30% over three other candidates.

Tim Nurrenbern won the South Gibson School District 1 race with 62%.  South Gibson District 3 went to Janet McBee with 51%.


View Greene County Results here Greene County Election Results